Monday, January 31, 2011

Adventures in Vinyl, Episode 1: "Music Power"

The first episode of Adventures in Vinyl will premiere this Saturday at 11 AM (central).  In this episode, we will be spinning a K-Tel album from 1974:  Music Power.  The album features Dobie Gray, Dawn (with Tony Orlando), the Grass Roots and (as they always stated in the commercials)..."many, many more."

Adventures in Vinyl can be heard every Saturday at 11 AM and Sunday at 4 pm.  It will repeat on Tuesday, 10 pm (Central).

The album will be played in its entirety:

Side 1:

1.  Brownsville Station..."Smokin in the Boy's Room"
2. Jim Stafford..."Spiders and Snakes"
3. The Stylistics..."Rockin' Roll Baby"
4. Ian Thomas..."Painted Ladies"
5. Sylvia..."Pillow Talk"
6. Millie Jackson..."It Hurts So Good"
7. Stories..."Mammy Blue"
8. Lighthouse..."Pretty Lady"
9.  Gladys Knight and the Pips..."Where Peaceful Waters Flow"
10. Sonny and Cher..."When You Say Love"
11. Gordon Sinclair.."The Americans"

Side 2:

1. Dawn..."Say, Has Anybody Seen my Sweet Gypsy Rose"
2. Four Tops..."Keeper of the Castle"
3. The Grass Roots..."Two Divided by Love"
4. Blue Mink..."By the Devil I was Tempted"
5. Chi-Lites..."Oh Girl"
6. Natural Four..."Can This Be Real"
7. Raspberries..."Tonight"
8. The Sweet..."Little Willy"
9. Joe Simon..."River"
10. Dobie Gray..."Drift Away"
11. Barry White..."I've Got So Much to Give"

Here is a vintage 1974 commercial for the album:

Also included in this episode are tracks from this month's Vinyl Oddity:  Leonard Nimoy Presents Mr. Spock's Music from Outer Space.

The Vinyl Voyage is hosted by Bruce Janu.  Running time for Episode 1:  80 minutes.

Sunday, January 30, 2011


Welcome to The Vinyl Voyage.  Tune-in to hear an eclectic mix of songs from the 1960s-80s--all played on the original, glorious vinyl.  If you like to listen to music on vinyl, this is the place for you.

In addition, we will be launching a monthly program called "Adventures in Vinyl," hosted by Bruce Janu.  In each episode, we will be highlighting a particular K-Tel album from the last several decades, in its entirety--skips, pops and all.  Episode 1 will feature K-Tel's 1974 compilation, "Music Power."

While you're here, don't forget to check out our store.